All News

The ISU Council met on October 14 -16 in Milano, Italy. The following were among the decisions taken by the Council during the meeting...

Oct 21, 2011

The ISU has decided to hold a course for Speed Skating Starters, which will be organized by the ISU Speed Skating Technical Committee and De Koninklijke Nederlandsche Schaatsenrijders Bond, KNSB (as hosting ISU Speed Skating Member) in

Sep 16, 2011

ISU Communication No. 1697 has been published further to ISU Communication No. 1685, this Communication contains

Sep 09, 2011

Announcement and forms for the Essent ISU World Cup Speed Skating in Chelyabinsk are available

Sep 07, 2011

ISU Social Media Guidelines for all accredited persons at ISU Events and Championships

Sep 05, 2011

ISU Communication No 1693 - Blood Screening Program and ISU Communication No 1694 -Biological Passport Program 2011 have been published...

Aug 31, 2011

ISU Communication No 1693 - Blood Screening Program and ISU Communication No 1694 -Biological Passport Program 2011 have been published

Aug 24, 2011

Following nominations made by the ISU Members, the below list of Referees, Starters and Competitors Stewards has been approved by the ISU effective as of

Jul 28, 2011

The Olympic Team Pursuit is a young event that was first held at the 2006 Olympics. Teams of 8 different countries, each of three skaters, compete against each other. The time of the third skater across the line counts.

Feb 27, 2010

22-year-old Martina Sáblíková (CZE) won the 5000m for ladies today at the Richmond Olympic Oval. It was her third 2010 Olympic medal after gold in 3000 and bronze in 1500m. Stephanie Beckert (GER) (21) won the silver and 37-year-old Clara Hughes (CAN) won bronze.

Feb 25, 2010

In the 10,000m, Seung-Hoon Lee (KOR) took the gold medal (his second this Olympics after the silver he won in the 5000m). Ivan Skobrev (RUS) won silver, Bob de Jong (NED) bronze. The time 12:58.55 was 0.37 below the former Olympic record. Sven Kramer (NED) skated 12:54.50 but was disqualified due to an incorrect lane change.

Feb 24, 2010

Ireen Wüst from the Netherlands won the 1500m ladies, with 1:56.89 ahead of home favourite (and bronze medalist in the 3000m) Kristina Groves. 3000m champion Martina Sáblíková (CZE), over a second slower than Wüst was good for bronze.

Feb 22, 2010

Mark Tuitert became the first Dutchman after Ard Schenk in 1972 to win Olympic Gold in the 1500m, the blue ribbon race of speed skating. Shani Davis (USA) won silver after gold in the 1000m. Davis also got a silver medal in the 2006 Olympic Winter Games. Behind him, Håvard Bøkko (NOR) won bronze.

Feb 21, 2010

Christine Nesbitt from Canada has become the second speed skating lady to win a home Olympic gold. She won the 1000m in 1:16.56, with a margin of 0.02 of a second on the silver won by Annette Gerritsen (NED). In third place finished Gerritsen’s teammate Laurine van Riessen.

Feb 19, 2010

At the Richmond Olympic Oval on Wednesday, Shani Davis from the USA won Olympic gold in the 1000m for the second consecutive Winter Games. Behind him, 500m winner Tae-Bum Mo (KOR) took the silver and Chad Hedrick (USA) won bronze.

Feb 18, 2010