Lausanne, Switzerland

#ISUSkatingAwards      #FigureSkating
2023 Skating Awards Nominees Header

On January 25, 2023 the International Skating Union (ISU) announces the celebrities that compose the six-member jury panel for the ISU Skating Awards 2023. 

The 2023 ISU Skating Awards high-profile jury is composed of noteworthy and accomplished Figure Skating stars. The Jury, presided by ISU Council member Mr. Gyorgy Elek, will have the honor and responsibility of carefully determining the winners among the three nominees in the six Awards categories (view categories here and nominees here):

  • Eric Radford (CAN) – Pair Skater who, with his partner Meagan Duhamel, is a two-time ISU World Figure Skating Champion (2015, 2016), a three-time Olympic medallist in Pair Skating (2014, twice in 2018), a two-time ISU Four Continents Figure Skating Champion (2013, 2015) and the 2014/15 ISU Grand Prix Final Champion. After retiring for three years, he returned to competition for the 2021/22 season with Vanessa James and performed at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing. He ended his competitive career with a bronze medal at the 2022 World Figure Skating Championships in Montpellier (FRA). Radford is a musician and composer and has composed music that other Skaters have performed to. He is currently also the Chair and Council Member of the ISU Athletes Commission.

ISU Awards socail meetthejury 02


  • Kiira Korpi (FIN) - ISU European Figure Skating Championships silver medallist (2012) and two-time bronze medallist (2007, 2011). She is the first Finnish skater to win a Grand Prix event (2010 Trophee Bompard). Following her retirement, she lived and studied in Milan and New York and published her memoir in 2018.

ISU Awards socail meetthejury 07


  • Miki Ando (JPN) - Two-time ISU World Figure Skating Champion (2007 and 2011), 2011 ISU Four Continents Figure Skating Champion and 2004 ISU World Junior Figure Skating Champion. She is also the first female skater to land a quadruple jump in competition. She is performing in shows and tours mostly in Japan.

ISU Awards socail meetthejury 05


  • Surya Bonaly (FRA) - Three-time ISU World Figure Skating Silver medallist (1993-1995), five-time ISU European Figure Skating Champion (1991-1995) and 1991 ISU World Junior Figure Skating Champion. She was the first female Skater to attempt a quadruple jump in competition (1990 ISU European Championships). She lives in the USA and pursued a career as a professional Figure Skater until 2015. She now is coaching.

 ISU Awards socail meetthejury 03


  • Christopher Dean (GBR) – Ice Dancer who, became Olympic Champion in 1984 with his partner Jayne Torvill. Four-time ISU World Figure Skating Champion (1981-1984) and four-time ISU European Figure Skating Champion (1981,1982,1984,1994). He has worked as a choreographer and he returned on to the ice as a performer for “Dancing on Ice” in Great Britain.

ISU Awards socail meetthejury 06


  • Todd Eldredge (USA) - 1996 ISU World Figure Skating Champion and 1988 ISU World Junior Figure Skating Champion. Following his competitive career, he has turned to coaching.

ISU Awards socail meetthejury 04


From December 15 to 31, 2022, the public and media had the opportunity to vote for their favorite Skaters, Coaches and Choreographers from the long list of 2023 ISU Skating Awards candidates. After the ISU announcing the three nominees in each Awards category (see here), the Jury now has the task to cast the final vote  determining the winner in each category.

On February 5, 2023, the ISU will present a unique ISU Skating Awards event, which will be staged and filmed live for the first time during the renowned Art on Ice show taking place at the Hallenstadion Arena in Zurich (SUI). By way of this special format and venue, this year’s ISU Skating Awards ceremony promises to deliver a spectacular experience: several of the world’s top Figure Skaters will offer exclusive interviews and performances within an entertaining show featuring international music superstars.

Check out the winners of the 2020 ISU Skating Awards as well as the Lifetime Achievement Award winners from 2021 here.