Lausanne / Switzerland


KoreanPastMedalistsMoTaeBumGettyImages 96767685 KoreanPastMedalistsLeeSangHwaGettyImages 468976071 KoreanPastMedalistsLeeSeungHoonGettyImages 97002316
Mo Tae-Bum Lee Sang-Hwa Lee Seung-Hoon


As the Republic of Korea fine tunes the final preparations to host the XXIII Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, we take a look back at the Korean Speed Skaters that made history with their Olympic Gold Medals. Republic of Korea have won four Gold Medals in the sport of Speed Skating: three in the shortest distance, 500m, and one in the longest one, 10000m.

Lee Sang-Hwa is the current Ladies' 500m World Recrod holder with a time of 36.36. She is a three time 500m World Champion and a World Sprint Champion and was crowned Oylmpic 500m Champion in 2014 and 2010. She will be looking to repeat her Olympic exploit in PyeongChang.

Mo Tae-Bum two time 2x500m World Champion and 2010 2x500m Olympic Champion. As an honorary ambassador for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang, he will be looking to make his country proud.

Lee Seung-Hoon 2010 10,000m Olympic Champion and  2016 Mass Start World Champion. Lee will aim to be on the Mass Start podium, an event that will make its Olympic debut in at the PyeongChang 2018 Games.


Sochi 2014

Lee Sang-Hwa - 500m Ladies




Vancouver 2010

Mo Tae-Bum - 500 Men




Lee Sang-Hwa - 500m Ladies




Lee Seung-Hoon - 10000m Men