Gangneung / Republic of Korea

Today Luiza Zlotkowska from Poland was elected to the ISU Athletes Commission as the Speed Skating representative. Further to the decision of the 56th ISU Ordinary Congress 2016 in Dubrovnik (CRO) to introduce an ISU Athletes Commission, the election of the Speed Skating Athlete took place during the ISU World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships in Gangneung (KOR). Zlotkowska was elected by Speed Skating athletes competing at the ISU World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships. She joins the Synchronized Skating representative Nathalie Lindqvist (SWE) on the Athletes Commission.

The ISU President Jan Dijkema commented “With the introduction of the ISU Athletes Commission, the ISU looks forward to working more closely with the athletes. We believe this is a great opportunity for athletes to have their say on matters involving them and they will help build a strong and successful future for the ISU and its Members.” 

The ISU Athletes Commission, as of today, is composed of:

- Speed Skating Athlete: Luiza Zlotkowska (POL)

- Synchronized Skating Athlete: Nathalie Lindqvist (SWE)

We would like to remind you that the ISU Athletes Commission members for the following disciplines will be elected by their peers at the following ISU Events:

- For the Short Track Speed Skating Athlete at the ISU World Short Track Speed Skating Championships in Rotterdam, NED on March 10-12, 2017;

- For Single & Pair Skating and Ice Dance Athletes at the ISU World Figure Skating Championships in Helsinki, FIN on March 29-April 2, 2017;

About the ISU Athletes Commission

The mission of the ISU Athletes’ Commission is to represent the views of the athletes and make their voice heard within the ISU.

The ISU Athletes Commission members are elected by secret ballot. All accredited Skaters at the respective ISU World Championships shall be entitled to cast one vote. The candidate with the highest number of votes obtained is elected. In case of a tie, new ballots will be distributed to all Skaters for a second round of election. The candidate with the highest number of votes obtained in the second ballot is elected. Provided that the Athletes Commission members are not actively competing, the elected Skaters will also be full members of the respective Technical Committee with a right to vote.

For full details please refer to the ISU Constitution, Articles 21 and 36, as well as ISU Communication No. 2043.